Gratitude Blogging

Thanksgiving comes and goes every year and students may take a few moments to think about what they are thankful for, but then we quickly move on to something else. This year I’ve decided to try a gratitude journal as part of my students’ blogs.  We’ll start it during this holiday season, but hope to carry it forward through the year at least once a month. My goal is that students not only start to think about all of the amazing things/people/experiences they have in their lives, but continue to do this reflecting as a life practice.  I want them to become aware of the fact that taking time to acknowledge gratitude can help create a mindshift–allowing us to think positively, appreciate, and pay attention to the world around us in new way.

I love gratitude journals for the opportunity it affords us to be thoughtful and introspective, but I also love that they help my students work on an academic skill that we strongly focus on this time of year–how do we express ourselves appropriately, and meaningfully, in writing.  I truly believe that it is only when we can express our thinking clearly that we truly understand.  So, we practice with things we know–our lives, things we are grateful for–but will also bring this type of thinking into how we respond to literature and other academic experiences.  The format for good thinking remains the same whether I am telling about my gratitude, how to solve a word problem, or why the character acted a certain way in the story.  Students need to be clear about what they are speakingabout (give a topic sentence), give reasons and or evidence for their thinking, and then do some explaining (add details) to make it clearer and/or more interesting for the reader.  No more one word or one sentence answers allowed in Room 110.  We think beyond the basics– grow our minds, and the minds of our readers/listeners by responding in a MEANINGFUL way!

kidblog

We use kidblogs for our blogging, and I’m a firm believer in leaving these blogs public so others can respond to them.  I try to rummage up anyone I can to leave comments for my kiddos.  I have even given some thought to teaming with a college or HS class…maybe even a company in the area…who might be willing to go in to our blogs once a week, read, and add some comments.   I do not edit students blogs before they post them, but I do encourage them to edit their own blogs, or work with a partner. If I grade a written response (of any kind), I also look for correct sentence structure.   Some students are still working on this skill, however I want their blogs to be as authentic as possible, so I try to leave it as their work, not mine. I should mention,  we also spend time discussing how to respond to someone’s blog in a meaningful way by using their name and commenting on something they said (not on their outfit that morning). I try to stress that commenting publicly is not the time/place to correct other student’s grammar/writing.  I do however mention that perhaps it could be appropriate to pop over to that student in person and let them know that you enjoyed their blog, but it might be easier to understand their thinking if they had used periods.

IMG_2295   IMG_2296

I will link you up to my students’ blogs.  Please feel free to browse and comment.  It’s always scary as a teacher to put your students’ work out there for others to see.  I have a new appreciation for all the teachers who blog and are willing to not only show the work, but show it in it’s true “glory”.  Because we all know, depending on the day… sometimes the work is messy, and frustrating, and exciting, and hard to understand, and amazingly insightful… rarely is it “perfect”.

Room 110- 4th grade blogs

Leave a comment